Skip to main content
InSource KnowledgeCenter

Understanding Object Versioning in Application Server

insource logo large.jpg

 

 

This Tech Note will walk you through understanding object versioning so you can upgrade or downgrade object swithin your Galaxy. This would be important during development time when needing to rollback to an older version of the object you're currently working on.

 

  • Author: Alex Davenport
  • Published: 12/16/2015
  • Applies to: Application Server

 

 

 

1 In this example I have created a $UserDefined Object called Object and placed this in my Project Folder to start Development work.

 

Version.JPG

 

2 Right hand click on the Object and select the Properties option as seen below.

Version14.JPG

 

This brings up information about the object. Click on the Attributes tab and as you see below the ConfigVersion is numbered 1.

 

Version1.JPG

 

3 We now add an attribute to the object and in this example it is a boolean called Pressure then click the Save and Close icon.

 

Version2.JPG

 

4 Right hand click on the Object and select the Properties option. As you see below the ConfigVersion has changed to the number 2.

 

Version3.JPG

 

5 We will now export this version of the object for Rollback purposes. Right hand click on the object then select the below option.

 

Version4.JPG

 

6 A browser will appear and select the area you wish to save the object to and name it appropriately. In this example it is named $ObjectV2.aapkg.

 

Version5.JPG

 

7 I have now added further attributes to the object called Density, Hardness and Viscosity as seen below then click the Save and Close icon.

 

Version6.JPG

 

8 Right hand click on the Object and select the Properties option. As you see below the ConfigVersion has changed to the number 3.

 

Version7.JPG

 

9 If we need to rollback our $Object we select the below option.

 

Version8.JPG

 

10 A browser will appear and select the $ObjectV2.aapkg then click the Open button.

 

Version9.JPG

 

11 The Import References Menu will appear and from the default change the setting to Overwrite objects regardless of configuration version then click the OK button.

 

Version13.JPG

 

12 The Object will be imported then Right Click the Object and select the Properties option and as seen below the ConfigVersion has changed back to a number 2.

 

Version3.JPG

 

14 When you open the object it will show the reverted version as seen below.

 

Version2.JPG